• Members 973 posts
    April 23, 2023, 6:47 a.m.

Hi all,
    I am just starting to learn a bit of pp.

I have a few pics that I have successfully sharpened somewhat, and some others not so good with a bit of noise as well.
    Is there a general method of one before the other?

Thanks,
    Bryan

• Members 435 posts
    April 23, 2023, 7:09 a.m.

Good question. Everyone might well be different, but I always use noise reduction first. Often I don't need to though with the low ISOs used here. Sharpen always last here.

Danny.

• Members 3326 posts
    April 23, 2023, 7:10 a.m.

Normally you would do the noise reduction as early as possible in your workflow and the sharpening last.

• Members 545 posts
    April 23, 2023, 7:45 a.m.

The conventional wisdom that I have always followed is that you sharpen at least twice, possibly three times: input sharpening, creative sharpening and output sharpening.

I would guess that noise reduction should be fairly early in this process, around the same time as input sharpening or soon after, but that is just a guess. I do not know whether it even matters mathematically. In raw processors such as Lightroom, the user has no control over the order in which those operations are done.

• April 23, 2023, 8:27 a.m.