• Members 3343 posts
    May 18, 2023, 10:19 a.m.

After a recent near world record beating long thread on raw histograms one of the outcomes was the re-establishment of the fact that camera's do not display histograms of the actual raw data.

So that begs the obvious question - Why not? 👿

I'm no expert on why that is the case but since no camera manufacturer afaik offers raw histograms in-camera I assume there must be a valid reason but I cannot see it.

I would think that any additional cost to offer choices in the camera's menus that include raw histograms, after their implementation, would be minimal. Maybe not?

Can anyone shed some light on why cameras do not offer raw histograms?

• May 18, 2023, 10:27 a.m.

I think it's a matter of how cameras have evolved and are designed. The live histogram arose from the 'live view' feature, which was using the video feed. Video, at least at that time, was strictly processed images, so the histogram was also processed. Now in mirrorless cameras 'live view' has become the default viewfinder, and also it seems that AF information is taken from that same feed (poor engineering IMO, but that seems to be how it is). Further, the video and VF feed has been handed over to dedicated hardware pipelines in the image processor and even in the HW of stacked sensors. Thus a raw histogram wouldn't look very easy to implement from the existing HW and SW structures. I'm sure that there are ways of doing it - but I'm guessing if asked the developers throw their hands up and tell people it's impossible.

• Members 3343 posts
    May 18, 2023, 10:42 a.m.

Thank you Bob. That makes sense overall although some of it is going over the top of my head but what I have difficulty getting my head around is that since a camera can display a live histogram of the internally processed raw data then the raw data must exist somewhere in-camera when the live histogram is being displayed.